Federal Regulation

You are here

State Safety Oversight Program Certification Status

What's New

On October 23, FTA announced that California and Oklahoma have obtained federal certification for their rail transit State Safety Oversight (SSO) Programs. With California and Oklahoma added, 27 of 30 states have now achieved SSO Program certifications, providing for the highest level of safety for rail transit riders and workers.


FTA’s SSO Program details the requirements that states must meet to oversee rail transit systems safety for passengers and workers. FTA’s SSO Program final rule, effective in April 2016, requires a strengthened SSO Program for oversight at rail transit agencies and provides greater authority for SSO Agencies (SSOAs) to oversee their transit agencies.

FTA provides federal funds through the SSO Formula Grant Program for states to develop and carry out SSO Programs, and FTA is required to certify each state’s program to ensure compliance. If a state fails to obtain certification for its SSO Program by the deadline, FTA cannot obligate any funds to public transportation agencies throughout that state until certification is achieved.

Download a PDF version of the map

SSO Program Certification

By April 15, 2019, each state with a rail transit system(s) must be federally certified for compliance with the SSO Program rule (49 CFR Part 674). To help states meet the requirements, FTA has developed a SSO Certification Toolkit that provides guidance for program requirements and offers technical assistance to SSO agencies. Prior to certification, FTA may conduct on-site verification or require states to address any deficiencies. These activities must be completed before the April 15, 2019 deadline. FTA recommends that states submit their SSO Program certification applications by April 15, 2018 and no later than September 30, 2018.

SSO Program Certification Status Table

Thirty states with rail transit systems are required to establish an FTA-certified State Safety Oversight Program (SSOP) by April 15, 2019. The status table depicts each state’s progress toward establishing an FTA-certified SSOP. The status table will be updated as needed.

Updated: Tuesday, December 11, 2018
Submit Feedback >